How do you feel about our website?
Great   Indifferent

Testimonials & Reviews

4.86/5
Douglas A. Brown, MD, FAAFP -  - Addiction Treatment Specialist

Addiction Recovery of VA

Douglas A. Brown, MD, FAAFP

Addiction Treatment Specialist located in Williamsburg, VA

14 total reviews

Dr. Douglas A. Brown always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 14 reviews with an average rating of 4.86 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Douglas Brown below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Victoria T.
Submitted 09/03/20
Success in Mind has changed my life in so many great ways and they continue to do so... Dr.Brown is one amazing doctor and I have felt so comfortable going to him for advice...as well as his wife Gloria , they have an understanding about addiction which makes it so much more rewarding to be a part of recovery through them... family owned is the way to go , trust me !! From my experience from moving from pa to va success in mind was not the first place I went to when I moved , I knew the moment I walked in their office that this was the place for me! Genuine staff and I could go in and on but I hope people consider going here instead of going elsewhere. Thank you for saving my life Dr. Brown & Staff you truly are a Gods gift to me ❤️
Amber R.
Submitted 11/25/19
The staff at Addiction Recovery has been extremely supportive in my recovery process, without the dedication and time provided by the staff I dont know where I would be today.
Allison W.
Submitted 07/10/19
Addiction Recovery program is absolutely an amazing program, the program is the only reason I am able to even write this today, if not for Dr. Brown, Gloria RN and Cindy LPC, and them not giving up on me through my recovery I would not be able to start my new life. Making the correct diagnosis of my co-occurring illness and being placed on the correct medication has now put me on the right path, not only for my recovery but giving me my life back. I realize my co-occurring illness is what led to my drug addiction since I was sixteen and what self medicating means.
Richard C.
Submitted 07/08/19
Feel like this program works with me on personal level. Learning about myself and how Addiction affected my life. This program provides a higher level of care.
Kevin N.
Submitted 06/16/19
Dr. Brown and staff are too notch. I have never received such care in a medical environment before. Dr Brown and staff treat the underlying problems not just medicate you. Take your life back and end the vicious circle of addiction call Dr. Brown.
V F.
Submitted 05/23/19
I had tried a few programs in the past before finding Dr.Brown's program here at Addiction Recovery Center of VA (ARCoVA), but to no avail. I had been met with, what felt like disgust and condescendence from the medical staff at said "previous programs". The other programs also felt like they had a "pay me and shut up" attitude. It felt like there was a stigma and it didn't matter that you were trying to get help, you were just another number to be pushed in and out of the office. If you hadn't guessed, I failed to get clean at those previous programs... It is a very different experience here at ARCoVA however! Dr.Brown and his staff are some of the most kind, caring, and understanding individuals I have met and know. I am so happy to have them in my life and consider them family! I have been clean for about 3 years thanks to theirs and Suboxone's help! I almost thought I would never feel this "normal" again, but through this program I have progressed, and still am progressing to this day. It's not just the Suboxone that gets you clean, you also have to work on other areas of your life, and this is the place to help you with that. To say they will go above and beyond to meet your needs is an understatement. When I first joined the program here, I had trouble getting to and from my job and appointments due to not having a drivers license, and Dr.Brown actually gave me a bicycle to help me out with that. His family and him didn't have to do that, but that is the type of people they are here at Addiction Recovery Center. I even eventually got my license back with their encouragement to push me through. I am so thankful to Dr.Brown and his staff, and can't imagine where I would be without them and this program (dead or in prison most likely). It has been one of, if not the best, decisions I have made in my life and for that I am thankful, and will always be thankful to the ARCoVA family. If you want to help yourself or a family member, then this is the right place to get started. Only you can make the first step!
Eric E.
Submitted 05/18/19
Dr. Brown and his staff were amazing from my initial consultation to my completion of the program. Dr. Brown is very personable. He treated me with respect and understanding throughout. I was scared going into the program, but the entire process was smooth and painless. He knows that every person is different and will design a program for the individual. In this regard his years of experience really show. I now consider Dr. Brown to be a friend and am forever grateful for him helping me get my life back. If you want your life back this is the place to go!
Henry D.
Submitted 10/19/17
The journey of life is not always easy. I am the parent of an OPIOID addicted child. He was an adult when we became aware of his addiction, but we learned his drug use started while a young man of only 15 years old. As a parent, learning your child has an addiction to opioids is heartbreaking, overwhelming and terrifying. There are so many emotions and questions which follow the initial shock, but none more important than "what do we do?". We had no idea ! I thank God for leading us to Dr. Douglas Brown, Gloria and Laura. They are truly dedicated to the recovery of their patients. They have shown support to us in so many ways. From the initial day of introduction, to the late night advice, they have given full support to our child and us as well. Their compassion, along with stern enforcement, gave the needed reality check for our son to move forward toward recovery and survive. Unlike typical experiences of little or no explanations from a doctor's treatment, they have provided both thorough information and detailed education to us along this journey. We have learned a lot and he has come a long way. We have become very knowledgeable of the process necessary for the recovery of this awful disease. It wasn't an easy journey and certainly not one that is completely over, but for his kids sake, we will continue down it together. We thank you Addiction Recovery Center for all you have done. I am certain this program was his best option to having his life spared.
Brandi W.
Submitted 08/31/17
I've been to a couple other places. They always made me feel low, making me feel as if I'm trading one thing for another and just another patient. But Dr. Brown, Gloria and Laura has made me feel successful in my journey to recovery. When I moved to VA, Addiction Recovery was the 3Rd place I called (& answered my first call.) I am very appreciative in finding such a wonderful family to help with my struggles of Addiction. I recommend this Team to everyone.
ERIKA D.
Submitted 07/08/16
If you are serious about your recovery and looking for a treatment program, I would urge you to meet with Dr. Brown first. I started my road to recovery a few years ago and put my trust in a place that could not have cared less about me. I was not treated with respect and it was obvious that my recovery was not top priority. Dr. Brown and his staff are professional, knowledgeable, and compassionate. From day one they made me feel welcomed, safe, and supported. They do not judge their patients and treat them like addicts. They understand the disease and are eager to help. They will make every effort to help you succeed in your addiction recovery and to help you to live a healthy and positive life. This is a great place to start your recovery. Just as the name "Success in Mind" implies, your success is what is important.
Zachary D.
Submitted 06/25/16
Success in mind! Dr Brown and staff really are a godsend. I tried many times to beat my addictions and always failed, but this place and these people really know what they're doing and have helped me turn my life around. I'm beyond grateful to them, and am so happy that I made that one phone call that has changed my life forever!
Anne I.
Submitted 06/09/16
Dr. Brown and staff are compassionate and knowledgeable concerning addiction and all aspects of recovery . Dr. Brown has made recovery less frightening and appear to be more attainable.
Victoria T.
Submitted 06/01/16
my description of this place is that it has helped me get to know myself better and love myself more. i like the fact that it is family owned and have an understanding point of view on the subject. helping me step by step,little by little but i am thankful for this place by all means. i definitely recommend this to anyone that is and has been in my position.
Eric E.
Submitted 05/28/16
Dr. Brown and the staff are extremely understanding and non judgemental. I can say without a doubt that going to Dr. Brown was the best decision of my life. I am out of the endless cycle of despair that is opiate addiction. I am on my way to being completely drug free and I couldn't be more thankful.